User Info Menu

Hi Everyone
    I am new around here my name is Brian
    A 50 year old guy that had to move from CA to Utah due to the cost of living but still want to learn
    Now I having yet got to my profile yet ????

I am not a newbie to music but have a lot of gaps in musically knowledge

But I like Blues ,Jazz,Rock, Christian Rock,And Classical music and I love all kinds of rhythms
    I like guitar and piano etc,,,

But what I need help with please

Ok I can sing or hum melodies medium to pretty fast with my voice

I do this over and over until I get this melody and rhythm in my head Lord Willing
    and use metronome at a very slow temp so I can do this fast rhythms
    then I pick up drum sticks and beat on my leg with the rhythm in mind at a slow speed along with metronome
    I try to do this for 3mins straight

Then pick up the guitar
    then I try to search for the notes one by one until I can play the notes with the rhythm

Now if I play a chord and then a melody after playing that chord
    This will be a lot easier to find the Each note because I do not have to search very far

Now
    if I cannot get the rhythm and melody want to hear deep in my head

I will hum one note at a time and slowly try to find it on my guitar or midi keyboard with in my daw Logic Pro X
    Until I get it

Now when I listen to a song I cannot hum or sing along with those melodies on say Spotify or YouTube etc...
    because seem to be moving to fast even the slower ones
    and since my range is not very wide
    I cannot hum or sing them
    if I scream them I can hit the note but this will hurt my voice in the long run

So I get very frustrated when trying to sing or hum the guitar solos for Hotel California by The Eagles or a The Classical piece from Bach or a blue lick from SRV
    since voice cannot hit those notes and ear is not able to hear that fast

So I tend to use a slow down software one Called Transcribe