The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 30

User Info Menu

Hey guys, 1st post- love this forum been lurking for months now.

I'm curious how you guys apply move-able Do to jazz. I've been teaching myself solfege for a few months and training my ears with functional ear trainer and my ear is definitely improving!

I see move-able do recommended all the time here, but I'm a little confused on how I'd use it for figuring out heads and licks...

Do I start with do for each first note? Do I change what do is for each chord change or do I keep it the same across all the chords if they're all in the same key? I don't want to develop any bad habits with this and have to go back and change my approach. My theory is decent enough I think to get by with what I want to accomplish but I need my aural skills to pick up.

How do you guys do it?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Movable Do means movable across different keys; Do is assigned to the major key note tonic... so Do is the key note and the tonic for the major scale and the root of the major one chord (I) of any and all major keys.

For minor keys there are two versions of movable Do, depending whether one sets the tonic or the sixth of the major scale to be the Do of the relative minor scale, the difference being what happens to the note name of Do when you modulate from major to parallel minor (stays the same note name) vs major to relative minor (changes the note name).