The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Posts 126 to 146 of 146

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by GuitarStudent
    I am not a professional musician. But I love (“love” is a deliberately chosen word here) reading music. I have a “practice partner” friend I meet with about once a month.

We sit down with acoustic guitars and sight-read guitar duets. Not for performance but for the exhilaration of learning. And I (and he) find it really fun.

The challenges of choosing positions, heightened listening, reading rhythms, etc. is exhilirating. There are loads of ways to enjoy the miracle of music. Reading duets with a friend is one way. It is all about the reward of mastering a written piece - usually a piece we’ve never heard.

I’m not about telling people they should read music but I, and my friend, find this very rewarding. But I see this as a reward of reading music.

I’m not saying anything new or novel here. Classical guitarists and others know this. And there are great duets free, everywhere. I’m just adding another idea to this conversation.
    You got to hack through it to the point where it becomes fun. Glad I persisted with it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by christianm77
    Reading music has nothing directly to do with one’s ability to play jazz.

OTOH it can get you on the bandstand. And you need to be on the bandstand to learn how to play jazz.

Or you could develop an absolutely amazing ear and only need to hear something once to play it perfectly.

Most people find it easier to learn to read.
    But how do you develop such an ear ;p? Is it only something you can get if you start really young? Or is there hope for a 24 y/o? Should I slow down records and learn from them? Should I do solfege?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Lark