The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 17 of 17

User Info Menu

Hi,

I'm a student of jazz guitar and I like that you recommended me some guitar solos to ear and transcribe. Thank you.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Who do you like?

To find out why you like them, transcribe them.

That's how it works.

I'm new in this world of jazz and I do not know many guitarists. I would like to transcribe guitar solos of classic jazz. But not where to start. can you recommend me some? Thank's.

User Info Menu

I think you are really asking about some important jazz guitarists to listen to. By your reference to classic jazz, I think you would want to listen to many of the people listed all over this site: Wes Montgomery, Joe Pass, Grant Green, Herb Ellis, Charlie Christian, Django Reinhardt, Kenny Burrell, the list goes on and on. More modern players are Pat Martino, Pat Metheny, John Scofield, etc, etc..

User Info Menu

It's been my experience that it's sometimes easier to transcribe horn solos than guitar solos. They're usually a lot slower, so you can tell what notes are being played. If you're just starting out, try some Miles Davis (like some of the stuff on Kind of Blue).

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Cool man
    i have checked it’s really great
    You forgot to include your URL, you feckless crapweasel.

User Info Menu

stuff that's not too terrible to transcribe

guitarists:

grant green
    jimmy raney
    jim hall (single note stuff)

sax:

paul desmond
    hank mobley
    lester young

horn:

chet
    miles

this is a short short list that'll get you started...

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyLoveHandles
    You forgot to include your URL, you feckless crapweasel.
    What the heck is a feckless crapweasel? I assume it is not a complimentary thing to call someone. Did I miss something?

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by derek