The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 42

User Info Menu

Hi guys.

Currently transcribing a lot and melodies and phrases are easier and easier to get down. What I do struggle with though is the process of linking the changes in a tune to the solo/melody line I'm transcribing. I'm not completely sure how the relationship between the chord and the scale the melody lies under fits together. For instance I've transcribed a G-7 chord and the melody could come from a G Dorian scale - but it could just as well come from a D# Ionian since the notes in the melody are also found in that scale? So how do I make sure I pick the right scale when I try to analyze my transcriptions? I'm still fairly new at transcribing.

Best wishes,

Daniel

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Daniel honestly if you want to analyze you should step away from the chord scale relationships and just focus on what the note is in relation to the chord whether it is a chord tone non-chord tone, passing tone etc.

User Info Menu

Analyze based on function. I agree with maybe "putting the scales away."

D#? Yikes.

User Info Menu