User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by nick1994
    that's like straight out of effortless mastery, great point
    Actually...it's a Reg-ism

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by fumblefingers
    Well maybe he's in his imitating phase.
    That assumes I'm good enough to imitate those I'D like to imitate.

User Info Menu

I chuckled at the title of this thread, and can certainly relate.

BUT - "the ear" is really just the mind.

Training the mind and body are necessities of life. When you quit them, they quit you.
    Last edited by fumblefingers; 01-06-2016 at 12:28 AM.

User Info Menu

I get it though. I graduated from Berklee and taught remedial ear training as part of my Masters program, but gigging tons and having to learn tunes off CD's that kids would bring to guitar lessons is what worked best for my ears. I think some approaches to teaching/learning are too clinical for some. I think some people learn best by being thrown into the deep end of the pool and learn to swim that way. Some are more comfortable watching others swim first and sort of analyse how to do it and go about learning to swim that way. For me at earlier stages in my development I spent a lot of time jumping through hoops that now look completely unnecessary though at the time I was convinced of their neccesity. I know all I have done has brought me to where I am now but I can't help but think I might have wasted some time and energy on material that didn't really help me hear or play better. To that end for me, the most organic, complete brain way to learn tunes is to listen and sing them with and without my guitar. If I can sing it I can play it. If I can't sing it I can't hear it I can't play it. Being able to name the intervals or inversions is great but it is equally great to relate an interval to a song,(perfect 4th, here comes the bride etc.). I think there are as many unique paths to jazz guitar nirvana as there are jazz guitarists. What