The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

Learning to read music has always been such a daunting task for me that I never really gave it much thought or practice. Basically I am self taught by watching other players, picking up songs and riffs be ear etc. That said, I did take an actual music reading class in High School as well as a college course but I really didn't learn much and never really got past triplets.

Well, I think I've finally hit a point in my life where I feel reading music is a beneficial must as it feeds self confidence and self esteem and for me at least, the benefits outweigh the stubbornness. Also, most of my local counterparts, especially jazz guitarists read music fluently. How do you feel about reading music or not? And what has been your experience in the area of learning to be self taught?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

If you don't read music, you're not as good of a musician as you can be.

the question is, are you ok with that.

User Info Menu

William G. Leavitt's "Modern Method For Guitar".

User Info Menu

it's a fundamental and fundamentals can be ignored but they always catch up with you.

User Info Menu

Learning to read/understand music notation is a way to expand musical communication skills, just like reading english. It is the gateway to a vast source of musical knowledge. You don't even have to be skilled enough to sightread to get huge benefits from it, you'd never regret it.

User Info Menu