The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20
    The subject of sight reading on guitar doesn't seem to fit into any existing category in this forum - for examples: technique, improvisation, songs, music theory. I have been playing guitar for 50 years, and I can sight read very well in the first two positions on the fretboard. (I took piano lessons and cello lessons when I was young, and taught myself to sight-read guitar when in high school). My mind is completely mapped to the fretboard in the first two positions. My fingers go there automatically. But the rest of the guitar neck is a vast desert of unknown notes. I do know the notes on the 1st, fifth, and sixth strings, because that's where the roots for the barre chords are which I learned as a kid! But the notes on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th strings are blank. Four different guitar teachers have tried to help me map the fretboard to the notes in my mind, using different techniques, but it never sticks. When reading sheet music, I want to be able to play the notes anywhere in the neck. Tab just distracts me. In any position, I can find the notes and work out a fingering, and with a lot of practice, I memorize the fingering. It almost appears that I am sight-reading. But what I really want to do is pick up a book of songs or exercises, and actually sight read the material in any position on the fretboard, and this has eluded me. Maybe I need to spend a whole year on position 3, a year on position 4, a year on position 5, etc. When I tried to learn the positions all at once, they just get all mixed up in my head. Can anybody recommend a book for just learning how to sight read all the positions on the neck? Or how they were able to learn it. Maybe other guitarists have the same problem sight-reading - or they aren't interested in learning it at all.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu