The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26
    Hi again guys,

Im wondering if any of you sight readers out there have any helpful advice for making the connection between note-brain-fretboard.

Ive been playing for about 15 years, so im not a beginner on guitar, but a beginner on standard notation and reading.
    I can read rhythm and pitch, but only v e r y s l o w l y. My rhythm reading is fine.

Im currently flicking through Ted Greenes single note soloing vols 1 and 2, and this is where i thought it was time to get my reading skills up to scratch.

So my question to those that have mastered this skill is; how do......how did.........what is............where d.......(scratches head)..........how did you master this?!

Im aware that sight reading is a different ball game from just reading to learn lines etc. But i wonder how i will ever get the connection between the page and my fingers. Maybe I havent mastered the fretboard as much as id thought, note naming wise (ie the enharmonic tones) It seems like a distant achievement for me, so any pearls of wisdom would be appreciated.

Steve.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

As Pierre would say... time on your instrument.

What really helped me was making sight reading enjoyable. That enabled me to put in the time.

For me that was working my up from the very beginning classical repetiore and moving up levels. For me it's similar to just like reading a book, I just sit down and read a few chapters. The music sounds good and there is lots of it. Join the DelCamp forum Classical Guitar Forum • Index page. There is tons of good and free classical music for members in pdf format.

Thanks for the reply, Fep.

I will certainly give it a go. Ive just registered and will look up the pdfs you mentioned.

Any more pearls anyone?

User Info Menu

Yep, just do it.