The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 25 of 25

User Info Menu

When I started playing guitar at 12 I was taught to read notes and play them in the open strings and first few frets of the guitar. I learned to do so. The problem is I haven't done it as much (truth be told, hardly at all) since I left my first teacher in 2004 and I never really took it out of that first position. I have been (still am) lazy with reading and play mostly by ear and tab. It is almost always faster for me to pick something out by ear than to read it from notes, I'm terribly slow at it.

What is the best way to get faster at reading music? I know the simple answer is "read more and stop being lazy", but I was wondering if you guys had any insight on how to make the most of my practice time. My other question is what is the best/your way to decide on which position you're going to play the notes in?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Reading is one of those things that requires doing it daily, like speaking a second language you don't do it regularly you get rusty and start forgetting words.

User Info Menu

You might want to check here for tips.

How to Sight Read on Guitar Easily - JamieHolroydGuitar.com

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by docbop
    Reading is one of those things that requires doing it daily, like speaking a second language you don't do it regularly you get rusty and start forgetting words.
    That is indeed what I plan to do! Do you have any suggestions on material to read? I was thinking melody lines of standards in real books, then again I might cheat by doing it by ear if it's a standard I've listened to

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ColinO
    Thanks man! I've visited Jamie's site before, great stuff! I'll certainly read this

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by a22