The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 167

User Info Menu

Hello and greetings from Portugal

I've been playing for almost 15 years now, and jazz and blues guitar for 5 years, and finally i going to get (dont know the exact term in english) my major degree in music in a very high standard music school in Lisbon. Well i'm gonna try...my choice is obviously jazz guitar.

Well...the tests to get in are a bit challenging thou.
    I can handle most of in (chords, scales, standards...) but sight reading and ear training is the most difficult for me.

In the past i studied classical music and flamenco with a private teacher for 6 years, and back then i could sight read pretty good.Now i'm a bit "rusty" in this area.

I'm afraid too of the "relative ear/pitch" questions. I have a good relative ear/pitch but i want to improve. I often practice with band in a box that has a ear training plug in software.
    Can you give me some advice in this area?

And, the main issue, do you have recommended book in how to improve my sight reading?

I have many books: A Modern Method For Guitar 1,2 and 3 (berklee), Aebersold collection, William Leavitt's - Melodic Rhythms for Guitar and others.

I was thinking of buying William Leavitt's Reading Studies for guitar and advanced reading studies for guitar.

What is your opinion?

Thanks in advance

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Since you already know how to read music, I think the Real Book would be the best for you to practice sight reading.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by masterguerrero
    I was thinking of buying William Leavitt's Reading Studies for guitar and advanced reading studies for guitar. What is your opinion?