The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 155
    joelf Guest
    Let me start right out with a disclaimer: I chose songwriting to discuss very much by design. I'm not an expert in orchestration; counterpoint and larger classical form; 'cell', 'artificial scale use or non-chordal writing; or African-derived rhythm/polyrhythm---though they certainly are subjects of interest to me and areas I intend to try to master. I do know a few things about writing songs (with lyrics) and GASB/Jazz/Pop type instrumentals, and have given myself wide berth for experimentation within those realms. I will therefore limit my observations about what works for me
    to those. And this is not a vanity thread: your input is welcome. Let's grow together.

1. Melodic/Harmonic Architecture:

In constructing melodies with supporting bass lines/harmonies, except where it would be effective, say, in blues or some rock forms; or parallel-type harmonic movement---avoid doubling the top melody voice in the bass. There are stronger options, like using contrary motion when possible, and generally really thinking out a complimentary bass and harmony line where the melody is supported by inner voice movement; 3rds or 5ths in the bass, and not unisons w/o a very good reason (like 'dramatic' emphasis).