The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16
    Hi all,

I am just starting out to realize how important transcribing music can be for learning to analyze and play music.
    Any recommendations on music notation software?

I know of Finale or Sibelius. I also looked into maestro.

Thanks for any tips.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm sort of stuck on Finale, but find it to be a little buggy and clunky.

User Info Menu

I would suggest you start with musescore, it's free. I was a sibelius user in the past, now I use musescore. After all, there's nothing to lose

Quote Originally Posted by fep
    I would suggest you start with musescore, it's free. I was a sibelius user in the past, now I use musescore. After all, there's nothing to lose
    Absolutely. I'm an old Finale user, and musescore is just great for what most of us are gong to be doing.

User Info Menu

Musescore is an outstanding quality/price ratio, and for sure that's the one to use if your needs are limited to transcription.

If you need a more sophisticated and more powerfull tool (whatever that means) like Finale or Sibelius, I'd would strongly recommend to invest into Dorico instead, the new music notation software recently developed by the ex Sibelius developer team who got laid off by Avid, then rapidly hired by Steinberg/Yamaha to develop the next generation notation tool.

I'm an old Sibelius user who recently switched to using Dorico once version 2 provided good chord support, and I can certify Dorico is much easier and more pleasant and intuitive to use. The developer team really knows what it does.

In addition, Dorico customer support is by far much better and friendlier than Avid one. Can't tell about Finale. You rapidly get an answer from the Dorico user forum, most often by Daniel Spreadbury himself , the leader of the Dorico team.

Absolutely no Dorico affiliation !!

User Info Menu

+1 on Musescore.