Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 29 of 29

User Info Menu

Hi!

I'm currently writing my own composition on Sibelius. I'm new at writing music notation, so i learn only by writing them and then play them with the Transport. I don't really know if the things that i wrote is exactly by the "rules" of writing musical notation.
    I attach one of my finished work. I hope you guys can give me some advice, and some critics about my writing skills. Thanks!

P.S Sorry for the bad English. Not a native speaker.
    Attached Images Attached Images

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I haven't played it, just looked at the score.

The actual notation looks okay but the bar arrangement is strange. The first three lines have 8 bars, then 7 bars in the next line. Then 8, then 7, then 4, then 5.

I think maybe that could be better :-)

The A section has 16 bars, which is fine. Then the B section starts after 2 empty bars. What is that? Or has the second part of the A section got 10 bars?

There should be a double bar line before the B unless the 2 empty bars are part of the A - in which case the 2.------------- should include them (and there should be a double bar line anyway). If not, those 2 empty bars should be called something (like piano solo) and separated off.

I think so, anyway. It can get confusing. Only you know how it's supposed to be.

Please don't say the application you're using won't arrange it properly. Not our problem!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1 View Post
    I haven't played it, just looked at the score.

The actual notation looks okay but the bar arrangement is strange. The first three lines have 8 bars, then 7 bars in the next line. Then 8, then 7, then 4, then 5.

I think maybe that could be better :-)

The A section has 16 bars, which is fine. Then the B section starts after 2 empty bars. What is that? Or has the second part of the A section got 10 bars?