The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 21 of 21

User Info Menu

I studied theory and harmony. I will be learning counterpoint this fall. I heard that there are a lot of benefits when it comes to composition if I study counterpoint. I heard the greatest composers like Bach, Beethoven, and Mozart all used counterpoint in their compositions. Bill Evans wanted to understand counterpoint. Not even aware or even trying, Lennon and McCartney has some elements of counterpoint in their songs.

I want to be a good melody writer, I'm kind of hoping that by understanding counterpoint, my melodies will evolve to something better. Right now I'm just imitating licks that I transcribed off recordings. I understand the chord tone and non- chord tone concept, but I feel that there is more to learn beyond that.

Is counterpoint a powerful tool in composition or is it just a pointless theoretical exercise that you are required to take at school?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's absolutely a powerful composition tool. I'm not an expert in it, but I did study it a little in school. It's basically about studying and thinking about how voices interact with each other. It's not really specifically about writing good melodies. Although, good use of counterpoint can make a bland basic melody sound much better, so it is certainly a way to improve your melodies. So it's great for developing really your understanding of harmony and voice leading, and just using more than one voice in an intelligent way. While I'm not an expert at applying it, I've played enough solo guitar pieces (70+) that use counterpoint to varying degrees, to know that skillful use of it can be the difference between a good piece and an amazing piece.