The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 20 of 20

User Info Menu

So I am learning basic chord progressions.

I have the following in my notes. Shows minor chords and major chords and the diminished chords. I also recently started using some 7ths in the chord progression and it seems that when you start using 7ths that the Diatonic 5th chord is dominant? (Diatonic just means in the chord progression when I googled the word). (I been using a book from "Hal Leonard Music Theory for guitarist" as well as google to learn.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 remember 7th is dim (as noted I guess if using 7ths or higher the 5th chord is dominant?)
    I ii iii IV V vi vii

I first tried to google answer and found information here () however, it was was more advanced and a lot of words and meanings that made it very hard for me to follow. So was looking for something explained much simpler as I am just getting into theory.

I am basically trying to figure out the rules before start breaking them meaning a chord progression is comprised of this or that and follows this etc...

So far seems like with triads its all minor or major and the seventh note/chord in the progression is diminished. However once you get out of triads it changes the rules and now the fifth note/chord is dominant? and the seventh note chord is no longer diminished but instead is a minor 7th flat 5th (AKA: Half Diminished chord)????

I only know Major 9th, Minor 9th and Dominant 9th and I don't know if the chord progression changes once again for 9th chords so that is blank area for me.