The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
    Hey guys,

Say you wanted to harmonize F# Dorian in a way to highlight the traits that make this mode "interesting/unique". How would you go about this process? Besides adhering to the i - ii - III - IV - v - vidim - VII format and maybe featuring the major 6th interval in my voicings wherever possible, is there a "correct" way to do this?

I've been messing around with this lately and it's fascinating how a lot of these notes I'm adding - despite being native to F# Dorian - are giving me all sorts of interesting extensions on the resulting chord. Is there a name for what I'm (attempting) to do? If so, where would be a good place to learn more about it? Whatever the case, I'm a novice having a lot of fun! Thanks guys

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Fretty Krueger
    Hey guys,

Say you wanted to harmonize F# Dorian in a way to highlight the traits that make this mode "interesting/unique". How would you go about this process? Besides adhering to the i - ii - III - IV - v - vidim - VII format and maybe featuring the major 6th interval in my voicings wherever possible, is there a "correct" way to do this?

I've been messing around with this lately and it's fascinating how a lot of these notes I'm adding - despite being native to F# Dorian - are giving me all sorts of interesting extensions on the resulting chord. Is there a name for what I'm (attempting) to do? If so, where would be a good place to learn more about it? Whatever the case, I'm a novice having a lot of fun! Thanks guys
    That’s an interesting question - what makes Dorian sound Dorian?

So, another way of looking at it is how few notes do you include for it to have the quality of Dorian-ness. Obivously a m13 arpeggio gives you the full pitch set.