The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 23 of 23

User Info Menu

Hi guys. I’m new to jazz guitar.

I bought Mickey Bakers book and I’m already stuck. I’m trying to move a D13flat5flat9 chromatically up the neck but in the book he just shows the D13flat5flat9 and I can’t figure the root to start moving it. Help.

Thanks Dave

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Here's a tip.

Write out the fret numbers starting with the lowest pitched string. So, for example, G13 at the third fret would be 3x345x. The x is a string that is deadened and therefore not part of the chord.

Then, write out the chord grip you're talking about and post it on here. Either it has a D in it someplace or, it's what is called a rootless voicing. The assumption there can be that the bassist is going to play the D, so the guitarist doesn't have to.

Once we can see the grip you're talking about, we can help.

Ok thanks. I believe it may be rootless. Here’s the grip

46x577

User Info Menu

D13b5b9 46x577

It's a rootless grip.

The chord is also an Ab7#9 which is what most would call it and is a chord that can substitute for D7 and when it does it's called a tritone substitution. As an Ab7#9 the root is clear and it's on the fat E string.

Thanks so much. What I’ve figured out is he doesn’t show an x for a muted string so I assumed the d string was open hence the name D13flat5 flat9 but to move it up chromatically gets impossible. I never heard of rootless chords before. I’ve always played blues, rock. country bias chords.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by 2020Border
    Thanks so much. What I’ve figured out is he doesn’t show an x for a muted string so I assumed the d string was open hence the name D13flat5 flat9 but to move it up chromatically gets impossible. I never heard of rootless chords before. I’ve always played blues, rock. country bias chords.
    Jazz = rootless chords - get used to it!

User Info Menu