User Info Menu

Hi,

I'm new to the guitar - I play bass mostly but wanted to have a go at learning guitar too.

My question is: when playing a constructed third chord is there any reason to play it in the different places on the neck that it can be played? Because when I play, for example, an A chord, in 3 different spots on the neck they all sound pretty much the same to me.

Is there a difference between the same chord when played in varying spots on the neck, or would I mostly use the different spots when changing from certain chords. For example one chord may be easier to change into an A on the upper neck while another may be easier to change into an A on the lower neck.

I hope that's not too confusing but yeah, that's my question. This is more a theory-based question than just straight chord shapes, as I want to learn the theory behind it all rather than just memorize shapes.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

some possible reasons:

1. proximity - nearest available version
    2. tone color difference - each string group offers variety of sound
    3. easiest shape - when the others are too darn hard
    4. fingerboard knowledge - ability to recognize the same intervals anywhere

User Info Menu

I am not sure what you are saying.

Is it this:
    xxx220 (A C# E played on the G, B and E strings)
    xx765x
    x12.11.9xx

or is it:
    xxx220
    xx422x
    x542xx

User Info Menu

Where to play chords depends on lots of things, which is what may make it confusing to decide. Maybe the best way to get a handle on it is to take each consideration independently, think it through, and explore what comes up, including more things to consider.

For example, one very practical consideration is the melody line of the soloist. So you might think of the possibilities: