The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 60

User Info Menu

Hello,

I am a new member to this group, and I have a lot of questions.

I am trying to study Jazz guitar, specifically the stuff from the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s. I am a big fan of old Blues and old Country music. I love the music of Hank Williams, Jimmie Rodgers, Lefty Frizzell, Merle Haggard, Ernest Tubb, Charley Pride and George Jones, and I can't get enough of the sound of a lap steel guitar.

I am trying to find a way to combine Blues, Country, and Jazz together, and I am a solo artist so I feel its really tough, but I wanted to ask, has anyone on here ever tried to take an old Hank Williams song and try to make it sound like a jazz or swing song?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You might try extending some of the chords - 6ths to 13ths, 7ths to 9ths, etc. "Crazy" has some nice chords as is. Just keep it swingin'.

User Info Menu

You might find some inspiration here.

User Info Menu

I play lap steel, and generally western swing is considered jazz. Even jazz guitar ace Bruce Forman has a western swing band called Cowbop. Bob Wills and the Texas Playboys are the roots of much of it, and they played in the same dancehalls in the same era as Basie, Ellington, Miller, etc.

Then there were guys Like Jimmy Bryant and Speedy West who many considered as pioneers of combining instrumental blues/country/jazz in the early electric era.

This facebook group might be of interest. Lap Steel Jazz Public Group | Facebook.

Asleep At The Wheel keeping up the swing tradition.

User Info Menu

You can jazz up anything, seriously, but whether it sounds any good afterwards is another matter. Depends how you do it and how much you want to dilute the original sound.