The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 100

User Info Menu

Hi everybody!!!

I’m a beginner who is trying to learn to play jazz guitar and I wonder about the best way to learn the different comping rhythms used by jazz guitarists. I like the idea of accompany a singer or a band with different rhythms but I don’t know how to do this.

In this moment I’m studying the book “Complete Jazz Guitar Method written by Corey Christiansen”. This book has a section about comping rhythms that is really interesting for a beginner like me, but I feel that I need extra material to master them.

I’ve seen in Amazon a great variety of books and videos about this topic, but I’d like to know which your recommendations are.

Thanks for your time.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

It's all in the recorded music, listen, listen, listen. Listening to pianists is almost more productive than guitar. It's really best to learn this by ear after you know how to build chords.

User Info Menu

Well for accompanying a singer, and for small group comping, you can listen to Joe Pass and Ella Fitzgerald, and then Jim Hall with Sonny Rollins on "The Bridge" (no piano). I think you'll find that they were pretty darned active.

So, you might try starting with the Freddie Green four-to-the-bar thing, and also with the Charleston Rhythm.

For comping rhythms, also listen to Wynton Kelly with Miles Davis (Kind of Blue)

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by cachalote
    Hi everybody!!!

I’m a beginner who is trying to learn to play jazz guitar and I wonder about the best way to learn the different comping rhythms used by jazz guitarists. I like the idea of accompany a singer or a band with different rhythms but I don’t know how to do this.