The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 79

User Info Menu

Hello guys/gals,

Please forgive me in advance if this question is rudimentary or simple.

I have been playing guitar for nearly 30 years. However, I have never really delved into the world of jazz chords or comping (Mostly a rock and blues player). As I begin my studies into jazz guitar chords and naming I've run across a few chord symbols that I'm confused about what to call them and why they may be called that way.

For example: -maj7 or -add2. What does the "-" represent. Same with "+" in something like: -9+7 or +7.

Thanks for any info anyone can provide and, again, I'm sorry if this question is a bit too elementary.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

- means minor
    + indicates augmented 5th

-9 indicates flat ninth

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by shrews824

For example: -maj7 or -add2. What does the "-" represent. Same with "+" in something like: -9+7 or +7.
    - refers to a minor chord. So, -maj7 is a minor chord with a major 7th (like james bond or something)
    + means an augmented chord. +7 would be like C E G# Bb

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Stuart Elliott
    - means minor
    + indicates augmented 5th

-9 indicates flat ninth
    So, for example: D-maj7 = D (minor) major 7; D+7 = D augmented 5th 7; D-9+7 = D (flat) 9th augmented 5th 7.

Is that correct?

User Info Menu

yep

User Info Menu

Perfect. Thanks so much guys. BTW, enjoying the forum quite a bit.

Cheers.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

A much older convention of naming flatted intervals with a "-" can still be found. C7-9 would be C7b9... More rare now, but you might run into it.

"+" is more common, but I think both are more old fashioned now. D7#5, D7b13, Dmaj7#5 etc is more used than the +'s.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by matt.guitarteacher