Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

Hi Folks, first post here.
    I'm pretty new to jazz guitar, and trying to understand comping better in an ensemble situation. Richie Zellon has a "minimalist comping" video:
    which really caught my attention. I want to sound just like him when I grow up
    He offers some tips on how he goes about it, but its somewhat perfunctory, at least for someone at my level. So, I'm going down the path of transcribing & analyzing what he's doing, chord by chord, on the two tunes he plays (It Could Happen to You, and What Is This Thing Called Love), and then hopefully figuring out how to apply what he's doing to other tunes. My question is, what resources are out there to help me understand this style of comping better?
    Thanks for any input you may have
    - snow

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

You might take a look at True Fire's course by Fareed Haque, "Jazz Comping Survival Guide." I'm slowly working my way through it, and Fareed's ideas of comping with guide tones and adding extensions and alterations as appropriate seem to be what Zellon is advocating (from the little I saw in the above video). Here's the intro to the course:
    Jeff

User Info Menu

I would say take Zellon at his word. He points out that he elaborates further on the concept elsewhere - but you have to pay.

But in general there are a few things at work here.

1. Basic rhythm (at first anyway). Whole or half notes.
    2. Dyads (Two-part counterpoint)
    3. Playing either the 3rd or 7th, or both, on every chord (or almost every chord)
    4. Include tensions and altered tensions to taste.

So:
    1. Pick a tune or two
    2. Write out some two part chords using the above "rules" - then play them.

The more you do this, the easier it gets. The easier it gets the better prepared you'll be to do it extemporaneously.

Thanks, that's a good idea, I'll give it a try