The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hahahahahaha I know I know I know... click-baity af.

But I'm actually not really joking. I've been committed to seeing how far I can take triads since I studied and played with Stefon Harris back through 2015 and learned all about how he uses triads and adds individual tension notes to them.

Over the next few years I've played around with all sorts of ways to expand on that concept and to translate all of that piano construction onto the fretboard.

Maybe 6-12 months ago I started playing around with this little "trick". It seems almost to simple to yield anything worthwhile, but I keep coming back to it and falling in love with the sounds more and more. It really gets an almost pianistic quality to the harmony... with inner voice movement and forward moving linear ideas happening inside of each chord as well as contrary and oblique motion that we don't often find so easily in standard guitar approaches to harmony.

I made a really quick video lesson about it and thought you all might dig it.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I call this type of comping "story telling with harmony"

Few people get it, Jordan--I love it.

You can be incredibly interactive with everyone that you're playing with when you use triads and dyads and build off of them.

Thing is, a lot of jazz musicians (not just guitarists) like to hear that traditional drop voicing stuff. I think the real beauty happens when you learn to mix them all together, you get different harmonic densities and it sounds real rich. But grip playing is easier than playing with triads, at least from the get go.

I just had a lesson where all we covered was basic triads and how to alter them to create harmonic movement. Pure gold.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by jordanklemons
    Hahahahahaha I know I know I know... click-baity af.