The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 12 of 12

User Info Menu

I’m not proficient at jazz at all; I am a total novice. But I have had this chromatically regressive chord structure bouncing around in my head for over 20 years. The thing it, it needs a resolution because there’s no real release of tension. I know the tab below isn’t crucial to the theory, but sometimes the positions where the chords are played effect the tone and moving to a position at the other end of the fretboard sounds off (i.e. going from 10th fret to 2nd fret).

Dmaj7 - C#7 - Cmaj7 - B7

x5767x DMaj7
    x4646x C#7
    x3545x CMaj7
    x2424x B7

So is there another chord (or set of chords) that should go at the end of this? Would you repeat this progression 4x before resolving or resolve it after each time played?

Zac
    Last edited by zcostilla; 02-27-2019 at 02:55 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Check the tabs for errors

User Info Menu

Maybe not the answer you want to hear, but a progression can resolve (i.e., end) any way you want it to. Unless you're talking about a specific (already composed) tune and asking how to, say, continue a chord pattern so that you wind up on a particular chord that's part of the composed harmony, there's no set answer to how a progression resolves. It goes where you tell it to go. You could just keep going in that pattern until you wind up where you started, play any other chord you want after the B7, etc. A sequence of chords in isolation from a complete composition doesn't have any inherent logic.

That said, maybe you can think of that progression as a series of modulations from one major key to another, moving down in whole steps (a reasonable thing to do in composing a tune). Under that logic, each dom7 falling between the major chords can also be been seen as a substitution (via a technique called tritone substitution) for the next major chord's dominant (or as a ii-V).