The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 46
    Hey y’all

I’m a drummer working on a PhD in music history. Feel free to make any jokes you would like. But I’m working on a project that looks at bossa nova’s influence on ‘60s music that we wouldn’t really consider bossa nova. My first section dealt with bossa nova drum patterns showing up in the Beatles and the Doors and James Brown, and now I’m interested in looking at some of the innovations by bossa nova guitarists. How might they have influenced American popular music during the 1960s?

As a drummer, and in general, I’m a bit out of my element in here. So I decided to ask some guitar enthusiasts who might know better. Hope this is the right spot. To give you an idea of what I’m thinking of, check out this Simon and Garfunkel song, “So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright” (1970). Nobody would really consider it a bossa nova, but that opening Ebmaj7 chord seems so indebted to bossa nova harmonies and voicings.

Anybody have any similar songs they can think of, or general ideas or thoughts? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Rami

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Thoughts, yes.

There are lots of interviews with the founders of Bossa Nova. They all agree that they were influenced by American Jazz, mentioning, in particular a Julie London album with Barney Kessel, whose voicings they copied.

They also attribute their style to living in apartment buildings with thin walls, forcing them to play quietly.

Their guitars were mostly nylon string instruments and they loved open string chords more than many Americans at the time. This may have been because of a classical influence. Or, it may have been because of the importance of rhythm -- Brazilians' chord melodies are generally played in strict time, which is facilitated by using open strings.