The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 18 of 18

User Info Menu

I am new to this forum since so many google searches on archtop guitar related questions ended up being answered here! I am a younger hobbyist musician who is mostly a lap steel player. I would like to make a better study of the rhythm guitar techniques used prior to drums in Western swing, Hawaiian, and jazz groups in the 1930s thru the1950s.

I have found some drips and drabs of useful information but I haven't found a good resource or book to tie it all together. Any help such as webpages, YouTube links, or book recommendations would be appreciated. For what it's worth, my guitar for this work will be a Washburn J10 once it gets here.

Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Whit Smith's "Chordination" DVDs are awesome, and exactly what you are looking for. Whit plays guitar in Hot Club of Cowtown, and really does an excellent job. I learn a little something new every time I go back to them, they are really fantastic and even really advanced players will get a lot out of them.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by pcsanwald
    Whit Smith's "Chordination" DVDs are awesome, and exactly what you are looking for. Whit plays guitar in Hot Club of Cowtown, and really does an excellent job. I learn a little something new every time I go back to them, they are really fantastic and even really advanced players will get a lot out of them.
    Yep! Here's a cool primer from Whit:

You may also want to check out Swing and Big Band Comping by Charlton Johnson. Not western swing specific, but a nice overview of those rhythm chord inversions.
    Amazon.com: Swing and Big Band Guitar: Four-To-The Bar Comping in the Style of Freddie Green (0073999951479): Charlton Johnson: Books

User Info Menu

There's some good info. here:

A Comparative Study of Rhythm Guitar Styles

User Info Menu