The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 19 of 19

User Info Menu

I've joined a band (drums, bass, keys, gtr, vox and 4 horns) playing a variety of swing music but including a number of Buble arrangements as well as some older stuff from Sinatra to Louis Jordan and Duke Ellington etc.

It's very new for me as a self-taught blues/rock guy who's been dabbling in jazz for a while but not in this particular territory. My main source of comping ideas up to now has been the Mike Di Liddo book in the Jamey Aebersold series and they don't seem particularly useful in this context. I'm also for the first time working from written charts. Those who know this material will know that some of the charts are pretty involved for a newbie like me. The band is hoping to debut in a couple of months so I'm looking at a lot of work and a steep learning curve. Having tried to work through some of the charts I'll confess I'm feeling a bit daunted and worrying that I've bitten off more than I can chew.

I've ordered the Charlton Johnson book (Jazz Rhythm Guitar for Swing and Big Band Styles) from Amazon and while waiting for it to arrive have found an online PDF which I don't feel bad about using because I've paid for the book. On the face of it this might simplify the process in the medium term, but in the short term it means getting familiar with new chord shapes, because these are using primarily the lower strings whereas the Di Liddo comping style uses primarily the top 4.

One question that's troubling me a bit is, this: the Johnson book seems very focused on "old school" swing: is its approach still valid for more modern arrangements like the Buble? Can people recommend any other sources that might or suggest anything that might speed up the process.?
    Last edited by Ozymandias; 02-17-2017 at 03:07 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Charlton Johnson may be just the guy for you: