The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 51

User Info Menu

Hi
    I'm not really a beginner - I used to play a few years ago (not jazz) then didn't have time then took it up again this year. Now that I've got some callouses back on my fingers and loosened my wrist somewhat I bought the famous Mickey Baker Jazz Guitar book. Unfortunately I've come unstuck on page 2 Lesson 1: Chords.
    He suggests that one practices the chords shown but I find one of them to be either a misprint or just plain impossible for my normal size hands. It goes like this:
    Chord 7. Gma7: G - D - X - B - F# - B That's a five fret stretch!
    Now I guess it must be possible but if so then I wasted my money since unless I get finger extensions there's no way I can fret that.
    I've scoured the net looking for a pic or vid showing someone doing it but no luck so far.
    Should I give up my quest to play some jazz?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

If I remember correctly, that one doesn't make a lot of sense by itself. Go ahead and look ahead a little bit, and see which chord precedes it in the lessons. I think it's usually a dominant voicing which is nearly the same and then it just kind of stretches out to that voicing. Makes more sense in context.

User Info Menu

It is possible to play that chord, but it is a stretch. I don't think it's used that much. Just learn as much of the other chords in that book as you can. Most of them are easier and used more frequently. I'm a fan of the Mikey Baker book.

User Info Menu

our own rob mackillops great mickey baker tutorial vids might be of some aid

cheers

User Info Menu

That's probably the least essential and useful chord fingering presented by Baker. Don't worry if you have problems with it.

Try it around the eighth fret, C Major 7 rather than G Major 7.

You can substitute the easier GM7.