The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 80

User Info Menu

I am looking for good examples of jazz blues comping to transcribe.

I hope I can find some songs with just guitar and vocal or two guitars or guitar and bass so that it could be easier for me to hear the guitar as I am a beginner.

Can you please suggest something for me?

Thanks so much for your help and for all the great things that I find in this forum.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Check out Joe Pass & Ella Fitzgerald recordings on youtube. He has a very bluesy jazz way of comping, even when not playing something specifically jazz blues. And to my ears, he's the best at it.

User Info Menu

I would suggest to hear a lot of Kenny Burrell and the young George Benson (especially his recordings with baritone sax player Ronnie Cuber, i.e. 'The Geroge Benson Cookbook')

User Info Menu

Another great album for comping is Julie Is Her Name Vol 1 & 2, with Julie London, Barney Kessel on guitar (and Ray Leatherwood on bass). I forgot about this one, even though it is one of my favorites.

User Info Menu

Check out Ed Bickert!

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by HighSpeedSpoon
    Another great album for comping is Julie Is Her Name Vol 1 & 2, with Julie London, Barney Kessel on guitar (and Ray Leatherwood on bass). I forgot about this one, even though it is one of my favorites.
    Is that where her version of "I"m In the Mood For Love" comes from? I love her vocal on that, and Barney's playing is stellar.

User Info Menu

Oh I forgot to mention, for the basics of jazz blues comping, Jim Ferguson's book, All Blues for Jazz Guitar: Comping Styles, Chords & Grooves, is pretty good. It has plenty of basic blues jazz comping examples for you to play through

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by MarkRhodes