The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

I am just getting into jazz playing and I am looking for more interesting ways of subbing chords or rather more interesting ground to work with. I know harmonic minors add alot of tension to chords, but are they often used as the basis for a chord progression in modern music? i.e., most songs seem to have a strong basis on the major scale and then subbing chords and adding tension notes, but do the chords themselves come out of a harmonic minor scale. I mean, from my understanding these other exotic sounding scales were the basis for classical music. Is that the case in jazz, if so, can some examples be given of standards that represent this idea?

Thanks.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Jazz only uses the 5th mode of harmonic minor on a regular basis. Some modern composers are exploring the posibilities of this scale in their music, Kenny Wheeler, Dave Holland etc, but in a traditional sense most guys stick to the 5th mode.

The fifth mode is used as a sub for a typical V chord, so over a G7 you could sub a G7b9,b13 chord, which is the fifth mode of harmonic minor.

A lot of guys use this as their go to scale for V7's that resolve to a minor I chord, but you can also use it in a major key to get a different flavor in your dominant sound.

MW

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by mjs720
    .. do the chords themselves come out of a harmonic minor scale. ... if so, can some examples be given of standards that represent this idea?
    Thanks.
    Jazz tunes don't often stay diatonic to just one scale. But there are lots of songs that portions of the tune has chords that could be considered coming from the harmonic minor. Let me open my real book starting with the songs titles that start with A...

Here's one, Airegin, 1st 9 bars

F- | C7 | F- | F7 | Bb- | F7 | Bb- | | Dbmaj7 ||