The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 83 of 83

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by ragman1
    I'm okay with chords, I know most of them, even inversions and specific string sets, but it's only for backing. Chord melody means learning all those new fingerings, often tortuous, and I don't need them. I play with them sometimes, and really like some of the sounds people have created, but I don't need to use them.

I probably ought to experiment a bit more and incorporate them into solos. I'm not good at chordal sounds in solos. It's a weak point.
    Oh I don’t know, I work out lots of stuff on my instrument from records I have no intention of working into my playing. I just want to be able to hear better, and it’s all good for knowledge and playing.

Anyway sometimes it’s nice to be able to hear a new voicing that you do like.

What is interesting is when you hear a player like Peter Bernstein or Mike Moreno making completely bog standard voicings sound fresh. I don’t want to copy their style, but it does inspire.

Anyway, piano is were it’s at for me. A bit of creativity has to creep in because we are limited by the instrument. How do we get the sense of that Bill Evans voicing?

I find that stuff pretty fun and creative. Otherwise it’s me just playing the usual shit and I can do that already.
    Last edited by christianm77; 08-22-2018 at 09:08 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by timscarey
    Half dim can also be a tritone sub for the 1 chord.

BbMaj7 - EbMaj7- Dmin - G7 becomes
    Emin7(b5)- EbMaj7- Dmin - G7

I think that happens in "I thought about you" and "on a misty night" It also happens in "ain't no mountain high enough" the first few chords are.