The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 29

User Info Menu

I am a beginner to Jazz guitar. Right now I am learning maj7, min7, and dominant 7 chords. My instructor has given me 4 different voicings to work on for each of those chords.

When I look on the internet I see SO MANY different ways to play those same chords. I know there are different voicings for them, but does anyone have any advice on how many different ones I will need to learn?

How do I know if I am learning the "wrong" voicings? Or voicings that I will likely never use?

I spend a lot of time practicing and I just want to make sure that I am not wasting my time.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Ashlee
    I am a beginner to Jazz guitar. Right now I am learning maj7, min7, and dominant 7 chords. My instructor has given me 4 different voicings to work on for each of those chords.
    Which four?

When I look on the internet I see SO MANY different ways to play those same chords. I know there are different voicings for them, but does anyone have any advice on how many different ones I will need to learn?
    You are a beginner. Take your time. It's better to use what you know well.

When I started learning jazz I was dabbling in rock, with lots of power chords -- just roots and fifths. After that, even major triads sounded odd, and major seventh chords -- I thought they were so dissonant! It may take a while for you to wrap your ear around jazz chords. For example, it may sound funny to have the seventh in the bass:

CMaj7: 7x555x

but that works great if it's a passing tone in a walking bass line. And having the seventh and root next to each other may sound dissonant now:

CMaj7 again: 3x241x or xx2413

But it's actually a very cool sound. I try to play chords with seconds in them.

I spend a lot of time practicing and I just want to make sure that I am not wasting my time.