The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 199
    I've been playing classical guitar for a couple years now and am currently studying it in college.

I was wondering about everyone's opinion on how the knowledge of classical might translate into jazz.

I'm debating transferring into a jazz program; but I see so many people who have learned jazz on their own. (All my jazz progress has been on my own so far)

Has anyone here studied jazz in college?

I can't decide whether to continue my classical studies and keep jazz on my own or to study jazz and have a classical background.

Any experiences?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I can't speak to the educational part, since I haven't formally "studied" classical in school, but I do play classical and Flamenco pieces frequently and I can tell you that the finger dexterity and technique that teaches translates very, very well to fingerstyle jazz for solo guitar. If I hadn't played classical stuff, I'd have been utterly lost with things like chord melody when I started trying my hand at jazz arrangements.

User Info Menu

I took classical for a couple of years to develop my right hand for country blues stuff. Wound up falling in love with the music. Worked up enough peices and modern stuff in classical style to play a lunch gig at a local hippy eatery.

Moved to another town, and never went back to it. However, I have never stopped benefiting from the right hand technique or the reading skills I learned from it. After a few years of moving, I wanted to study again, but chose jazz instead, as I believe jazz players are the best all around players on the planet.