The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Posts 176 to 199 of 199

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by S F
    About the OP's original post:

Jazz is something you ultimately teach yourself. At least more than classical. All you need to learn jazz is inspiration to pick up the instrument! If you had to pick between the two to study at university, I'd always pick classical.
    That is true. Paul Desmond said that writing was like jazz: it can be learned, but not taught. I never actually studied jazz guitar, I studied guitar technique and modern theory, jazz came from what I heard, and as I learned the guitar and the theory, the jazz got better.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Classical guitar is a bit of a ghetto, a relatively small repertoire compared to piano and no access to the top tier classical and romantic period composers. Always surprising how little interest many guitarists have in music written for other instruments. Hard to play Carcassi or Guiliani once you get to know the Beethoven sonatas (although Sor is actually quite good).

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BWV
    Classical guitar is a bit of a ghetto, a relatively small repertoire compared to piano and no access to the top tier classical and romantic period composers. Always surprising how little interest many guitarists have in music written for other instruments. Hard to play Carcassi or Guiliani once you get to know the Beethoven sonatas (although Sor is actually quite good).
    Very true. But I would say rather 'a sect' .. not quite ghetto.
    I studied classical for 7 years since 10... I had very good teacher who was very open-minded, and accomplished pianists ...I saw him perform 3rd Rakhmaninov concerto (yes he had to cut nsils)
    In my 2nd year I moved into symphonic and piano music and began to play piano..

User Info Menu