The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 36

User Info Menu

I'm looking to get a new classical guitar and would like some advice. I've been playing guitar for 10 years and recently started playing bossa nova on my steel string acoustic. I'd like to upgrade to a quality classical guitar.

I was originally considering the cordoba c9 but realised I wanted spruce instead of cedar after watching videos and listening to the sound. I've also been looking at more vintage guitars like the di giorgio and giannini models that were played by bossa nova "pioneers". This is intriguing to me because I know these guitars have the exact sound I'm looking for.

Is it worthwhile to buy an older vintage guitar on reverb or ebay, or should I play it safe and buy a newer cordoba c9 or something similar?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

As fascinating as the DiGiorgios are, and believe me I have been nearly seduced many times, they are a crapshoot. They are old, variable in quality, often priced unrealistically by overly optimistic sellers, and may require work to be playable.

That said, I still want one. The Tarrega, Autor #3, and Classico #28 models are sought after. I would avoid Giannini though. Just not the same mystique as DiGiorgio, and fewer models qualify as excellent.

For another suggestion beyond the ubiquitous Cordoba lineup, take a look at the Kenny Hill Player series guitars, which are lovely solid wood. They are available in several scale lengths, with cedar or spruce tops: Kenny Hill Player Series Classical Guitars - Savage Classical Guitar

User Info Menu

Charlie Byrd played a Ramirez Segovia model for most of his bossa nova solos and Laurindo Almeida played a Manzanero for most of his so those are some other guitars you could also consider for that classic bossa nova sound.