The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Posts 26 to 50 of 78

User Info Menu

I forgot to mention - someone suggested Hippner guitars. Last year, I attended a classical guitar recital where the guitarist played a couple of Hippner axes. They sounded great...

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

User Info Menu

Jabberwocky mentioned Luthier Michael Thames. I own a Thames Classical and it is the finest Classical that I have ever played.

here is a link to his website:

Michael Thames Guitars

While his guitars new start at $7500, I have seen used examples sell as low as $3000. If you have 3K to spend and can get a Thames for that much, I do not think that you can do better.

Best of luck in your search!

User Info Menu

Rich2B,

I have no affiliation with or knowledge of these, but here's a couple from the Delcamp site that are in the NY area and within the price range you stated.

- 1973 Manouk Papazian Spruce $2500
    - 2011 Antonio Aparicio Cedar $1000

And not in your area, but a Cordoba Masters Series Rodriguez for $1500.

Gook luck.
    Chris

Thanks guys. How would the Antonio Aparicio compare with a Pavan? I was actually thinking of the Pavan TP-20 CE which is an electric with a cutaway. If I went with the Aparicio I would need to get a transducer installed in it, which would likely be cheaper than the Pavan. I just don't feel I have the knowledge about classical guitars to tell if the guitar is real. At least with the Pavan I'd be buying it from Prisloe who would be a trusted source (maybe?). I don't feel I need to buy a pristine guitar since I play so much that the guitar will surely get scratch up. How about the Cordoba Masters? I have a GK Studio which I really don't like. I am hoping that these two Cordobas are in two different classes. Bottom line is I am not buying this as an investment. I just want something that plays really well.

PAVAN TP-20-CE (CUTAWAY ELECTRIC)