The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 58

User Info Menu

I really want to become better at Jazz guitar playing. In many aspects I am still a beginner. Do you think that learning classical technique and such will hinder my Jazz learning.

I've heard from professors that when classical musicians take jazz courses they seem very lost. I've even heard "edgier" professors outright mock the idea of classical theoretical instruction. On the other hand I've also heard classically trained professors refer to jazz as being a "new" phenomena since it has only been around for 80 years compared to the classical history of the guitar. Almost as if they dismiss it as being like a folk style.

I can respect the idea that learning other types of music is good, but where do you draw the line and get focused on a specific style that you want to learn?

So, what are your thoughts on learning classical guitar and jazz guitar at the same time? Right now I tend to think that classical studies would only be so helpful because jazz is such a specific art form.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Anything that makes you a better guitar player will contribute to you being a better jazz guitar player. Don't take my word for it, listen to Lenny Breau!

User Info Menu

For what it's worth, I've spent most of the last couple of years doing classical guitar only. I only just recently got into the jazz guitar scene.

My opinion is, "it depends". What are your goals as a guitarist? I do know that the classical stuff has helped me a lot in being able to use my right hand fluently - something which is important if you're going to be doing a lot of fingerstyle or chord-melody playing. The focus on technique in classical is second to none, assuming you have a competent teacher. it will definitely make you a better player.