The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Posts 51 to 62 of 62

User Info Menu

What he did to Barrios was an anathema.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I studied with Michael Chapdelaine at Aspen Music school 1976 maybe 77. Oscar Ghiglia ( a disciple of Segovia and the "old school) was the primary instructor along with Elliot Fisk. During a lesson with Ghiglia I was performing a Scarlatti sonata he had recorded. ( I used his fingerings FWIW). At one point he said "go back to measure 18". As I looked to the sheet music he snatched the score off the stand and loudly said "measure 18". I guessed the spot he was referring to and played.. He put the music back on the stand and said "see, you don't need to look at the music". I was happy when the lesson was over. I've also performed for a Leo Brouwer master class in Toronto. A piece he composed called "Canticum". I was scared to death. Got through it and he could not have been more gracious and encouraging, autographing my score. I was elated beyond belief.

User Info Menu

"What he did to Barrios was an anathema"

Who is "he" ?

And would that not be "anathema" without the "the" ?

P. Dantic

Last edited by bohemian46; 10-23-2020 at 11:47 PM.

User Info Menu

I have no position except to post factual information. ..
    and an observation with information that counters ghe content of observations and comments of other posters.

Your comments suggest Segovia ruined "MC's" career ad that "MC" had no part in it.

Must we resort to politics?

I think we have had enough of politics in the last 4 years to last several lifetimes.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by bohemian46

"What he did to Barrios was an anathema"

Who is "he" ?

And would that not be "anathema" without the "the" ?
    and an observation with information that counters ghe content of observations and comments of other posters.