The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 27

User Info Menu

Just curious, how many people here play Latin guitar or listen to Latin music? I am part Puerto-Rican so I was curious to see if anybody enjoys this music.

And does anybody here know how to play the music they play in Mexican Resturants? I also wondered what chords they used. Im assuming alot of diminished and augmented.
    Last edited by aPAULo; 06-19-2007 at 10:16 AM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

i'm no expert on the music of spain, but, traditional mexican musics were a big part of the neighborhood i grew up in. we'd hear everything from jarochos, which were up tempo, make you want to yell out loud romps, often with great little improvisations on the requinto (small little A tuned guitar) to rancheras, which had a lot in common with country and western, and a little polka thrown in! a kicked up version of this was played by the local "wind bands" (basically mexican big bands, with some fantastic tuba players taking the bassline!) and pop groups-- the poppier version was called "tejano." i spent many a night at the aztec pyramid on archer avenue listening to my buddy ernie's band (banda azteca-- they were a big band) and dancing the night away like an a-- ...ah memories...

but to get to the question--chord wise, there's just the usual major and minors, with occasional diminished chords used as a passing tone. some guys would jazz it up a bit, playing sevenths. the rhythms were most important.

there's a marvelous little album that was given to this gringo back in high school by a latino friend as an introduction to these different styles-- he figured i'd like it since it was played by a "rock" band-- the album: los lobos' "la pistola y el corazon." it's ridiculously brilliant, and probably available for under five bucks on the amazon marketplace on any given day.