The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24
    Hello everyone! I introduced myself in the intro room, so here goes...

As a beginner, i know very little about jazz. I was able to go to a local jazz club last night where a gentlemen went through my whole Real Book and outlined tunes to learn for jam sessions. I was very grateful!

I am studying guitar in school, and I will be workin on the tunes he outlined for a while during this summer break! However, i wanted to know from fellow guitarist what are some of the essential chord-melody solo's for me to work on during the semester break as well? I have completed Autumn Leaves and Barry Galbraith's Darn that Dream so far.

I know this may have been discussed, but please leave any helpful comments or suggestions! Thanks!

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

your own.

that's my best advice. Start with ballads YOU like. Pick "easier" ones, for starting out--lots of quarter notes in the melody is a good sign (you'd think half and whole notes would be easy, but sometimes it's tough to figure what you're gonna do that whole time!)

here's a few I did when i was starting out that weren't too difficult, and were interesting enough that I still play them now.

here's that rainy day
    how high the moon
    misty
    georgia on my mind
    All the things you are

and the afforementioned "leaves" and "dream" would be on my list, although "dream" can be slippery to improvise over...

User Info Menu

Green Dolphin Street
    Bluesette
    Tune up (M. Davis)
    Watch What Happens
    What is This Thing Called Love
    You Don't Know What Love Is
    Take The A Train
    Stella By Starlight
    Blue Monk
    A Child Is Born

User Info Menu

My Favorite Things
    Girl From Ipanema
    Georgia
    Any Blues
    Rhythm Changes (I use Flintstones, in one of the RB)
    Yesterday (in my Real Book)
    How High The Moon
    Misty
    Body & Soul
    The Shadow Of Your Smile