The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I apologize beforehand for my lack of correct terminology here.

I'm still beginning (not guitar playing but rather playing straight jazz) and I'm a little lost. I've been going off of lead sheets as a baseline and then just kind of feeling around the chord to add, subtract or alter notes by ear in order to find the "best" voicing. I suppose that really means I'm just choosing new but related chords. I find that playing the melody and playing either the actual note or a complimentary note and sort of building a chord around it to comp over works best. But there has to be an easier way... is this just a matter of time and expanding my vocabulary of chords or do I really need to go whole hog and get into theory (intimidating).

Any tips on how you choose one chord over another? Or how to do so in a more expedient way?

I have a lot of the basic moveable shapes down which has made it possible to learn things by ear but it takes me a long time to dial each chord into precisely how I want it to sound in context.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by BiscoDrew
    .....I've been going off of lead sheets as a baseline and then just kind of feeling around the chord to add, subtract or alter notes by ear in order to find the "best" voicing....
    Keep up the good work!

User Info Menu