The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 28

User Info Menu

I have been playing classical guitar for 20 years. I would say that's 90% of my guitar playing. When I play Blues or Jazz, it's from someone else's written arrangement, and so that's little different from classical.

I've purchased the various books from this site. These might be great for me a little later, but they seem to jump into the deep end rather quickly.

My knowledge of music theory is ok, but not accessible without a lot of thinking. I can build things up like a geometry student that starts with the "a line is the shortest path between 2 points." So, I sight-transpose The Nearness of You up an octave, and after the pickup the A will be on the 1st string and it's under FMaj7. OK, FMaj7 is FACE (that one comes quick, an upcoming Bbdim7 will take me a minute to work out). But back to FACE with the A on the 1st string; now I'm looking for accessible FCE. It's all a lot of work.

I have some realbooks and have started to work on figuring out my own arrangements, but it's slow going. I suspect my problem is I haven't deeply learned any vocabulary, But I've always found it tedious to memorize triad shapes, e.g., and so they quickly fall out of practice.

So, given that I have the mechanical part of "fingerstyle" down quite well, is there a progressive method for learning Jazz guitar, and in particular chord melody? In classical, there are any number of such methods (Shearer, Tenant, Parkening, Sagreras). What I have managed to buy and look through just seems to jump in and not be organized well for a beginner. I want to be able to pull up a realbook score and be able to sight-read and toss in chords, rather than working it all out painfully on paper and then memorizing and playing the same thing all the time.

If you're a teacher and take on beginning jazz players, what books do you use?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu