The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 15 of 15

User Info Menu

Greetings,

I'm new to the topic and am seeking some advice when it gets to ...

balancing how much chordal vs single note playing
    technique ideas for making chords stand out less than single notes. For example the Bb to C chromatism at bar 7 is played on high E string, struggle to make this heard evenly with G half dim on beat 1 bar 8.

Of course, further comments and suggestions welcome ...

Thanks!
    Last edited by raal; 08-10-2020 at 03:55 PM. Reason: adding video icon

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I think that is a fairly rare and obscure tune, which I like and know from Miles' group record from the 50s.
    So it wouldn't surprise me if folks here who don't know it might not realize how really well you've got it.

The characteristic stops and starts are hard enough with or without a drummer; and they make the balance equation more difficult. The melody seems to want to "stay going" and lead the re-entry after the stops, fine for trumpet, but certainly a challenge for guitar wanting to include chords.

I play with with a pick exclusively, so I would probably emphasize melody and do chords sparingly; for your approach I'll defer to those here that play with their fingers. That's a different world. I'm just glad your doing this cool tune!

Thanks for the encouraging comment. Glad you're recognizing the Golson/Davis version in spite of slowing it down 40 bpm! Having a click on afterbeat and a bass track helped locking it down, though through multiple flush and repeat lol. I take your idea of playing chords sparingly as excellent advice regardless of right hand technique .

User Info Menu

You seem to be using some quite difficult ‘stretchy’ chord voicings, I would go for shapes that are more compact and easier to play.

That bar 8 bit I would put the melody on the 2nd string perhaps, i.e.

x 10 11 10 13 x
    moving to
    8 x 8 9 x x