Likes Likes:  0

User Info Menu

Hey guys

Im still fairly new to jazz playing (about a year or two) , I know only a few chord melodies - all the things you are, st. thomas, all of me, softly as in a morning sunrise

here is a chord melody i wrote over the last few days. the thing is, i play through the melody once and im not sure what to do after that - the recording is short.

please let me know what you think of my playing as well as some tips of what to play after finishing the head (single note soloing sounds kind of sparse, but comping ends up boring..)

thanks in advance!

ps: also let me know what you think of the recording quality, i plan to apply to mcgill for music and they require a recording tape of professional quality - this is my own home recording but i think it sounds quite good (im not using this in my application, but ill be using the same recording techniques)

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I would suggest you visit lickbyneck.com and Download Autumm Leaves and learn it. I think your recording sound wise is ok for an audition demo but the arrangement needs work. I applaud you for putting yourself out there and I look forward to hearing more stuff from you.

That arrangement is fairly similar to mine, except in a different key. The main difference is that they made the 3 quarter note lead in's into chords rather than leaving them single notes like I did - I'll give their approach a try. Seems incorporating a bass-line would be good too. Thanks for the comment.

User Info Menu

A bass line would improve any chord melody, it also can create contrary motion which can be interesting. I just got into Autumn Leaves myself so I'm no expert on the tune. I'm mostly familiar with the Stanley Jordan version which is much faster than most people play the tune. Good Luck and enjoy the journey.

User Info Menu