User Info Menu

i am new to jazz playing and want to play chord melody style . when i play the melody line and get to the note which i want to expand /fill out the tune. the note that i finished on. do i look for a nice 7 /major /minor dim chord that complements or sounds the same i e say i finish on a A do i look for a chord in the a family of chords

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Start by learning other people's tunes. Get a Real Book, it's a great resource.

All "chord melody" really is is playing the chords to a tune and putting the melody note (usually) on top.

So you're not making it up out of thin air. The tune supplies both melody and harmony, you put them together.

It's what piano players call "playing the piano."

Pick a song, we can ho through it together here.
    Jeff Matz, Jazz Guitar:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/jeffreymatz

"Jazz is like life...it goes on longer than you think, and as soon as you're like 'oh, I get it,' it ends."

--The Ghost of Duke Ellington

User Info Menu

Dirk (who hosts this forum) has some great lessons. Scroll down to Autumn Leaves, as that’s a good tune to start off on.
    Free Jazz Guitar Lessons | Learn How To Play Jazz Guitar
    I haven’t looked at this particular lesson, but everything I’ve seen on his site is nicely done. If you find this lesson is over your head, you may need to start with some of his earlier lessons for foundations (basic scales, chords, etc.). Give it a try then post any questions here.
    After you learn a bunch of standards this way you’ll start to understand basic chord changes and how they relate to the melody.

User Info Menu

Harmonizing the melody of a tune is arrangement of the tune for solo guitar. Harmonic techniques and devices for arranging are fundamentally the same whether you're arranging for a concert band or orchestra or choir or piano or etc etc.