Jazz Guitar
Learn how to play jazz guitar with our eBook bundle
+ Reply to Thread

Inversions and voice leading rules?

Hi all,

Please excuse me if this is a complete beginners' question.

The past 8 months I've really been revising technique, and how I think about and play the instrument, rather than learning new tunes (well all the way through). I'd say it's been essential and I'm really happy with the progress I'm making, most of the time hah.

Anyway, I'm currently working out all inversions, and just wondering if there's any hard rules or even rules-of-thumb for how one leads to another in a progression.. voice leading I suppose?

I realise that the progression often sounds best when the chords are in close proximity to each other, rather than jumping all over the place of course. Basic basic example, ii V I in C around the 5th fret:

(D-> G -> C)

A -> G -> G
    C -> B -> C
    F -> F -> E

I've also noticed, probably from the players I've transcribed, that where you are horizontally (?) on the fretboard influences decisions.

Sorry if this isn't too clear, but looking for a little guidance, even if you could point me to another resource (though I shy away from most books). Thanks!

Close voice movement is often described as the guiding rule of voice leading around here.
    It certainly good to be aware of common tones and small moves.

Take a melody, melodies will often contain a combination of leaps and steps.
    This is also be true for a bass line. Inner voice movements are more often contained but not always.
    The fate of 2nd violin and viola players in string quartets.

Arranger Don Sebesky stated in a class I took that his preferred scenario when possible is for each part
    to sound like a coherent melody unto itself.

Voice leading for a multi voice ensemble is the template that allows us to think freely about the notes,
    however what is physically possible on guitar with 2 hands and 6 strings tempers all our musical decisions.