Likes Likes:  0
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 16 of 16
    Hey everyone,

this week I have my first ever solo jazz guitar gig. It's a corporate event and I'm providing background music. I have had plenty of experience playing duo, trio, quartet for these kinds of events, and I have a good repertoire of chord melodies and solo tunes, but is there any advice anyone can give on things that work and don't work in these situations, or just any general advice about playing solo background gigs?
    Last edited by JArent; 09-26-2009 at 04:07 PM.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi JArent,

I would make a list of the standards I know best and play those.
    I've had similar type gigs for private parties. Enjoy yourself and you
    will sound great.

The Earl of Soco

User Info Menu

if you get lost in a tune, backcycling is your very best friend.

if you have limited warm up time, start with a rubato piece, as the freedom of tempo will allow your chops to warm up while not worrying about a strict rhythm.

consider some different things for improvised sections--stop time, soloing with chords, walking bass, etc...

throw 'em a bone...a beatles tune or something sinatra sang will usually result in a tip.

poker face. no one will know if you screw up unless you make it look like you screwed up.

keep your amp on the floor for a nicer bass response--these gigs aren't about cutting thru, they're about nice musical wallpaper for folks to enjoy.

don't get discouraged if it seems no one is paying attention. there's likely a guitar player or two in the room who might really appreciate you... otherwise, treat the idea that no one is saying anything to you as a seal of approval.

have business cards ready. corporate events are the best places to score more corporate gigs/private party gigs.