The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Posts 76 to 93 of 93

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by christianm77
    As aspiring artists we usually admire craft because it is what he want for ourselves. But why do we want more craft? To what end?
    That's quite a can of worms.

Stephen Sondheim, a brilliant man and often astute commentator on songwriting, has said 'Art is craft', also 'Dull and smooth is better than clever and awkward'. I'm not so sure, though I know what he means. (Sonny Rollins also commented 'There's a lot to be said for proficiency').

(My own mea culpa: my art has always been ahead of my craft. It worked out fine for me, though I wish I wasn't as lazy about practicing technical things, even making up my own exercises to apply to my style---or reading. It's just that it's SO boring. So shoot me. Also, as a composer my hand-written lead sheets give certain people agita. THAT sucks, and needs remediation).

You need enough craft playing for the listener not to have to guess at what you meant. You don't want to be a stumblebum. But when it takes on a life of its own without the 'goodies' and the chance-taking you may be in trouble artistically.

Chris Anderson, the guy I keep mentioning, (but nobody here seems to have bothered to listen to---hint, hint) told me a story the night we met:

'Tommy Turrentine and them were talking s*&t about me. I could hear them, but they didn't KNOW I could hear them. They were saying I couldn't do things (chops-wise) like Cedar Walton'

He put his head down and continued, as if in agreement

'My thing is mostly harmonic'.

He also said he had 'no kind of discipline' and (stupidly) trashed a famous tenor player thusly

'If you put some new changes in front of him he couldn't hear S%&T. He was a PRACTICER!!' (last word spit out venomously).