The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 24 of 24

User Info Menu

I started working on Days of Wine and Roses recently. I'm still getting it under my fingers, but I'd like some input on the arrangement. I'm fairly new to the jazz thing.

Don't take it easy on me, though I'd prefer criticism on the forum more than on the youtube video itself.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

I'm a neophyte myself. Such a great tune and I think you have the melody nicely upfront. Tone is nice too. I'd say a great start..now you can tweak it for the rest of your life.

p.s. Bill Frisell might provide an idea or two for your arrangement..check out about 3:00 or so

Last edited by alltunes; 02-03-2017 at 12:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by alltunes
    p.s. Bill Frisell might provide an idea or two for your arrangement..check out about 3:00 or so
    Thanks for that video! Now those are some great ideas. I've been working on one of Frisell's Solo arrangements ("Embraceable You") lately, and I really appreciate his approach to chord melody, if it can be called that.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by alltunes
    I'm a neophyte myself. Such a great tune and I think you have the melody nicely upfront. Tone is nice too. I'd say a great start..now you can tweak it for the rest of your life.

Great description of Bill Frisell's approach. Thanks for posting.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Here's another take. This time trying to apply some of the concepts from Frisell, such as framing, inner voices responding to melody, etc. Thanks again for that great video, alltunes.

User Info Menu

You are welcome. I will be working on this next.

You adapted that Frisell stuff quite well. I think it flows a little smoother now. I suppose the next step would be to combine the two techniques. "Framing" mixed with some block chords. Great sound on the Eastman.

Quote Originally Posted by omphalopsychos